Frequently Asked Questions

Answering Your Most Commonly Asked Questions

What All Drivers Need to Know

  • Speeding violations
    • Speed 1-10 mph over the limit – 3 points
    • Speed 11-20 mph over the limit – 4 points
    • Speed 21-30 mph over the limit – 6 points
    • Speed 31-40 mph over the limit – 8 points
    • Speed 41 mph over the limit – 11 points
  • Reckless driving – 5 points
  • Fail to stop for school bus – 5 points
  • Improper cellphone use – 5 points
  • Following too closely / tailgating – 4 points
  • Child seatbelt – 3 points
  • Fail to yield right of way – 3 points
  • Red-light – 3 points
  • Stop sign – 3 points
  • Unsafe lane change – 3 points
  • Fail to signal – 2 points
  • Improper turn – 2 points
  • Disobey traffic device – 2 points

The driver responsibility assessment is a fee you must pay to DMV if you are convicted of certain traffic offenses in New York State or accumulate 6 or more points on your driving record within 18 months. This fee is in addition to any fines, penalties or surcharges that you must pay for a traffic conviction.

A suspension means your drivers license (or privilege to drive) is taken away for a stated period of time before it is returned. A revocation means your license has been cancelled and you must apply for a new one when the revocation period ends.

You will be subject to suspension if you get 11 or more points on your license for tickets received within an 18-month period. However, the point system is not the only way to lose your license. Your license will be revoked for convictions on three speeding tickets within an 18-month time period or for being convicted of operating without insurance.

If you get caught driving with a suspended or revoked license you will be subject to arrest.

Suspension periods can be definite (which has a beginning and end date) or indefinite, which does not end until you take a required action.

The defensive driving course is a 5-hour class that helps reduce points on your license and saves you money on your insurance. It can be taken online or in person.

  • The defensive driving course can help prevent the loss of your license if you accrued 11 or more points on your driving record because 4 points are “subtracted” when calculating points for suspensions. The tickets/points do not physically come off your driving record.
  • The defensive driving course can save you 10% on your automobile liability and collision insurance premiums.
  • The defensive driving course may be taken every 18 months for purposes of point reduction and every three years for purposes of insurance discount.
person crossing pedestrian lane
Widely Used and Recognized

With over 6000 active clients and more than 100,000 violations fought, Shapiro & Shapiro is considered by many to be the best in New York State.

Let Us Fight for You

Each day for the past 25 years, Shapiro & Shapiro have been aggressively fighting to defend motorists and protect their driving records. Se habla español.

60+ Years of Combined Experience

Our legal experience and knowledge of New York traffic and criminal law makes us a great choice to help you.

Contact Us for a Free Consultation

Call Us

OR

Email Us